In the United States Body Shaming is so prevalent we are almost oblivious to it. It starts in school elementary school and doesn’t seem to stop. This year, EveryBODY deserves a massage week is this week and I felt it necessary to relay the importance of EveryBODY getting a massage despite what they may look like! bodyshaming

I have a daughter who already complains of being FAT! And She’s not … she has a nice little figure for her age. Healthy in all ways!

So I plead with you, regardless if it is your child, your parent, your sibling, your spouse, your friend or even yourself. Just SAY NO to Body Shaming.

In the massage industry, we therapists see all kinds of bodies. Fat, Skinny, Tall, Short, Hairy, Bald, Scarred, Pristine, Tattooed and any number of other differences! As a massage therapist (at least for me), we see muscle and fascia, adhesions, and the way bodies move. Honestly more often than not, as I work my eyes are closed and my fingers are doing the seeing.

Please don’t be afraid of being too big to get a massage. I’m not going to look at your fat. My table holds a LOT of weight, and I actually have extensions on my table to make it wider. I have yet to have a client book that was too large for my table. muscle fascia

Please don’t be afraid of being too skinny to get a massage. Despite being “skin and bones” skinny people really do have muscle too and it needs attention just like anyone else.

Please don’t be afraid of being too tall. It’s ok if your feet hang off the table for a bit, and I can make some adjustments to ensure your comfort.

Please don’t be afraid of being too short. If I can work on an infant, I can work on you!

Please don’t be afraid of being too frail and weak to get a massage. I have techniques that are less invasive and are of the lightest of touch so that you too can enjoy a nice hour of relaxation.

Don’t want to get undressed? That’s ok too! I can work around clothing and still work to relieve your stress.

Forget to shave? Let me just say that the woman who didn’t shave all winter has NOTHING on the hairiest of men I’ve worked on, and not shaving doesn’t bother me.

Too hairy? Bah! I can work with that. I have plenty of hairy men who leave feeling like they are floating on a cloud after having their knots reigned in.

Embarrassed by a bad tattoo? Chances are I won’t notice it and if I do, I won’t mention it unless you do.

Have a bad scar? Not a problem! Did you know I’m if not the only, then at the very least one of the first Scar Release Therapists in Alabama? I may not be able to make it go away, but if you want me to work on it, I can at least try to help it be more functional, less painful, less annoying and less obvious. If you don’t want me to work on it, I’m not going to judge you over it.

As a massage therapist it is my intent to ensure that every BODY on my table is treated like the King or Queen they are. That my hands show compassion, empathy and love the only way they can by doing the best they can with the massage.

When I say that my office is a judgement free zone, I mean it on every level! Every body tells a story of the life it has lived long past and recently. Every BODY is perfect for the soul that owns it. Love your Body It’s the only one you will have!

